2 0 APR 2016 CIBRARY

Paper loid the Major Gen)

Paper loid the Major Gen

EALA/RES/3/03/2016

EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

A RESOLUTION OF THE ASSEMBLY TO THANK THE FOUNDERS AND FIRST LADIES OF THE FIRST EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY (1967-77) NAMELY;

- 1) Mama Ngina Kenyatta of the Republic of Kenya
- 2) Mama Maria Nyerere of the United Republic of Tanzania and
- 3) Mama Miriam Obote of the Republic of Uganda.

By Hon. Mumbi A. Ngaru and adopted by the Assembly on 16th March, 2016.

WHEREAS the First East African Community existed from 1967-1977 and constituted the Republic of Kenya, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Uganda whose political leaders were: President Jomo Kenyatta, President Julius Nyerere and President, Milton Obote respectively;

WHEREAS in 1977 the Treaty establishing the East African Community was dissolved for various reasons;

NOTING THAT the three first and founder leaders namely President Jomo Kenyatta, President Julius Nyerere and President Milton Obote are deceased; may God rest their souls in peace;

APPRECIATING THAT the process of revival of the current East African Community started in 1993 with an agreement for the cooperation of the Republic of Kenya, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Uganda referred to as the Tripartite Commission;

NOTING AND APPRECITAING that the process was actualized by the ratification of the Treaty of the establishment of the of the East African Community on 30th November 1999;

APPRECIATING that the Community is now expanded to include the Republic of Burundi and the Republic of Rwanda who joined in 2008;

FURTHER APPRECIATING that the said countries desire to foster and promote greater awareness of the shared interests of their people and resolve to act in unison to achieve the objectives of a people-centered and private sector led activities and programmes for deepening and strengthening the East African Integration;

DESIROUS AND APPRECIATING THAT all East Africans young and old are on board and that not even the past challenges are going to stop in their grand march to the East African integration;

APPRECIATING THAT the Assembly has in many and various occasions noted and appreciated the integration dream of our founder Leaders posthumously;

CONVINCED THAT their surviving spouses namely Mama Ngina Kenyatta of the Republic of Kenya, Mama Maria Nyerere of the United Republic of Tanzania and Mama Miriam Obote of the Republic of Uganda, during their time, contributed immensely to the development of their respective countries and the East African region through initiatives they were involved in, the heath, particularly in social welfare and care programmes of the most vulnerable in Society;

NOW THEREFORE THIS ASSEMBLY DO RESOLVE AS FOLLOWS;

- That it collectively registers its great appreciation to the former First Ladies as a way
 of recognizing the role they played and continue to play in galvanizing East Africa in
 the integration process, serving the people of East Africa as "informal Institutional
 Memory".
- 2. Request through the Rt. Hon. Speaker that, the founding First Ladies; Mama Nginga Kenyatta of the Republic of Kenya; Mama Maria Nyerere of the United Republic of Tanzania; and Mama Miriam Obote of the Republic of Uganda to grace a special sitting of the East African Legislative Assembly in the next Plenary Meeting (6th Meeting) of the 4th Session of the 3rd Assembly in Arusha, Tanzania

Ē	
# - bali.	16 MARCH 2016.
Alex Obatre	Date:

For: CLERK

Certified by: